Opt In Activities

We provide a number of extra activities for our children because we believe in providing a diverse range of experiences that enable children to discover their passions.

Culture Group

For children who enjoy learning and performing Maori and Pacifica action songs

For Year 3-6
Held Tuesday lunchtimes
Contact Jeanette Smail
jeanettes@mairangibay.school.nz

Chess Club

For children who enjoy chess or want to learn

All welcome
Held in Library / old ICT Suite
Contact Peter Stoner
peters@mairangibay.school.nz

Student Council

To raise money for KidsCan charity, improve the school and report safety hazards

For Elected Representatives
Held in the Boardroom
Contact Bruce Warren
brucew@mairangibay.school.nz

EnviroGroup

Gardening projects, NZ Conservation activities

For Year 4-6
Held Wednesday lunchtimes in Room 20
Contact Siobhan Cooper
siobhanc@mairangibay.school.nz

Marimba Group

Ensemble playing using marimba, xylophones and percussion
Preparing for the Marimba Festival and performances in school and in the community

For Year 5-6
Held Thursday at 8.10am in Music Room
Contact Clare McCormack
clarem@mairangibay.school.nz

Senior Choir

Singing performance group. Participating in the APPA Music Festival, Kids Sing and the Mid Bays Music Festival

For Year 5-6
Held Thursdays at 1.30pm in Music Room
Contact Clare McCormack
clarem@mairangibay.school.nz

Junior Choir

For Yr0-3 children who love singing and performing.

For Year 0-3
Held Thursday lunchtimes in Music Room
Contact Jan Westerkamp
janw@mairangibay.school.nz

Ukulele Club

Learn to play and perform on the ukulele. Participating in the Ukulele Festival.

For Year 3-6
Held Thursday lunchtimes in Music Room
Contact Clare McCormack
clarem@mairangibay.school.nz

Badminton and Table Tennis

For children who want to have fun learning and playing these games.

For Year 3-6
Held Wednesday lunchtimes in the Hall
Contact Stephanie Chapman

Coding Club

This will be starting soon

For Year 3-6
TBC
Contact Clare McCormack
Caley Plinston

Interschool Rippa Rugby

3-Day tournament

For Year 3-4
Held April – August at lunchtime week before competition on field and turf
Contact Kathryn Hohaia
kathrynh@mairangibay.school.nz